Clever Pumpkin Pie

I’m not lazy, I’m clever!

pumpkin pie

Clever Pumpkin Pie – Funnermother.com

Ha ha, I think cooking should be easy and good for you, like low-impact aerobics.

I love crockpot and roast-in-a-bag meals, and now I’ll share my secret labor-lite pumpkin pie recipe.  It is a very forgiving recipe!

Pumpkin pie

Clever Pumpkin Pie – Funnermother.com

Bake the pumpkin in the oven.  No, there’s no  reason to gut, peel, dice, and boil the pumpkin.

Bake it. The seeds will become scoopable, the pumpkin flesh will fall away from the peel.

Pumpkin pie

Clever Pumpkin Pie – Funnermother.com

Dump into a blender:

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup pumpkin

3 eggs

1 small can of evaporated milk

ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg to taste.

Pour into a pie crust (learning to make my own will be my new year’s resolution). Bake at 425 for 15 minutes, then reduce heat to 325 until a knife comes out clean (ca. 40 minutes).

Easy Pumpkin Pie

Clever Pumpkin Pie – Funnermother.com

This recipe makes a light custard-like pie.  Top it with toasted nuts or frozen yogurt to keep it on the healthy side.  for a gluten-free option cook the filling in ramekins or glass baking pans as a pudding or flan.

This is a delicious way to have a dessert with protein and vegetables in it.  We also eat it for breakfast! If I make it often (ahem, it’s harvest time), I change up the spices or drizzle it with homemade caramel or chocolate.  If you try it, tell me in the comments what you did to mix it up!

15 thoughts on “Clever Pumpkin Pie

    • The pie I photographed for this blog actually had about 1/4 or 1/3 cup of pear in it. It is a very forgiving recipe, and can be made with carrots of squash or sweet potatoes. And some fruit, apparently! it is a delicious breakfast-y flan with the pear. good luck!

      Like

  1. Angela, I appreciate how you offer an easy option that will surely cut down on some holiday baking stress for lots of folks and that you pointed out that this is smart – not lazy! Unfortunately, I discovered that noone in my family likes pumpkin pie. I only discovered this last year, after I decided to surprise them by baking a HUGE one. Oh well! HOWEVER, they love pumpkin baked in the oven as you suggest. I just cut a Hakkoido in half, remove the seeds, brush it inside and out with a mixture of olive oil, lime juice, finely crushed fresh garlic and a little salt and pepper (red and black), Bake it about 35 minutes, then slice and serve as a side or a snack.

    Like

    • ooooh, Denise, that sounds like a yummy savory twist on pumpkin. Thing 1 and 2 are kind of fussy, but I am trying it. We are still getting pumpkins from the garden. But also, this forgiving recipe works with carrot, squash, and sweet potato…. Thanks for popping by the blog! x a

      Like

  2. I am in love with crock pots and one pot meals because it’s the smart – not lazy – thing to do! This Clever Pumpkin Pie recipe looks yummy, and knowing how much effort it is to work with raw pumpkins, I am open to giving this a try. Debating on syrup or whipped cream for a topping 🙂

    Like

  3. Mmmm . . . yummy! Since I’m a dietitian, I’m a hard-core foodie. We all are! Thanks for the gluten-free option as that’s where I’m at these days. So are a lot of my clients.

    Like

    • Well, it’s a verrrry forgiving recipe. The last one I made, I FORGOT to put spices in! haha. Coupled with the fact that I only had 3/4 cup of pumpkin, so I made up the difference with a ripe pear, it was really lite and custardy and damn if my picky picky 10 yo didn’t say it was the best pie i ever made, ha ha. You can’t really go wrong with brown sugar and eggs.
      Thank you for stopping by the blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

