Supermoist Chocolate Cake – it’s healthy!

I’ve got a lot of strategies for feeding my finicky kids! At the same time, I do also sneak healthy foods into my kids.

Here’s the recipe for my latest awesome discovery:858cf7ed-23f4-4600-8152-6d90b7ab8639
Chocolate Beet Cake
Boil, then peel & shred 1.5 – 2 cups beets, set aside.

Stir:

1/2 C melted butter, 1/2 C olive oil, 3 large eggs, 1C sugar, 2 C flour, 1/4 C cocoa powder, 2tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 C dark chocolate mini-morsels, ½ C melted butter, ½ C olive oil, 3 large eggs, 1 C sugar, 2 tsp vanilla

Fold in beets.
Cook in buttered 13×9 pan, dusted with cocoa at 350 for 35-­‐45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Do you have a surprising family sneak?  I’d love to hear about it in the comments below!

11 thoughts on “Supermoist Chocolate Cake – it’s healthy!

  1. I LOVE BEETS, too! I do pumpkin puree pancakes and replace some of the flour with buckwheat. Maple syrup is all they taste anyway. Important note: It works on kids, not on husbands.

    Like

  2. Angela, what an amazing idea and who would ever have suspected beets in their chocolate cake! I once saw Jamie Oliver add all kinds of veggies to a simple spaghetti sauce and the idea was to get the kids to eat their vegetables without the fuss or muss. I tried it on mine and it passed, no worries or complaints. Thanks for the recipe, I will try it with gluten-free flower!

    Like

    • Yes! Jamie Oliver put a lot of extra pressure on women to cook when he first hit the US, and I’ve been watching him respond to our finicky kids in a ‘no fuss no muss’ way that I really like.

      Like

  3. I love this one! Have never heard of it before but I’ll be trying it for sure. I have been sneaking pureed yam and squash into my kids food since they were very young. Anything that was naturally orange/yellow got a healthy serving of pureed veggies in it, including mac and cheese! I still have one that doesn’t eat any fruits or veggies so we are still as sneaky as ever over here. Thanks for the new recipe!

    Like

    • Excellent, I hope they love it. We successfully snuck a LOT of zucchini and carrots in the homemade beefaroni we made at the kids’ school — even those sullen middle school kids loved it! 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Tools of the trade: eating in style | Funnermother™: let's get fun!

Leave a Reply

