Get your kids into the garden now!

green garden sign

Click this image to purchase this amazing hand painted sign from JM Ellis Designs.

At this time of year, the cold, ice, snow and grey skies are punctuated with tiny hopeful patches of color.
Red, orange, yellow, and lots of greens.
Maybe you are getting these winter-breakers at your house.
They save thousands from seasonal depression, coming on the heels of the winter holidays.

vintage seed packets

Click this image to purchase this digital download from Luna Girl.

Yep it’s time for seed catalogues!

My kids like to garden.
With a landscaper dad, they practically grew up in the independent garden center where he worked.
This year I’m trying an experiment.
I’m giving the kids the garden catalogues.
At nearly 12, Thing 1 is not going to play with gorgeous spring vegetable toys.  Sadly.

knit vegetables

Click this image to purchase these fine knit toys from Maple Apple.

My cake-eater brags about eating raw cabbage right out of his garden in the summer.
In winter, he tries to steer clear of the veggies.  So I hope asking him to circle the items he wants to plant in the garden will get his mind on his greens.
sliced tomato

Click this image to purchase these natural hearts from brandMOJO images.

Going through the catalogues

together, we might remember a fruit or vegetable that we haven’t had for a while.

We might agree to try the new funky cauliflower or kalettes.

They don’t need to know I have ulterior motives as we cuddle up under Gram’s afghan and plan for spring!

Tell me what you’re planning for YOUR garden over on Facebook.  And if you’d like to work with me on your finicky eaters, drop me a line at Funnermother[at]gmail[cot]com

12 thoughts on “Get your kids into the garden now!

  1. Great post! Planning, planting and tending a garden, watching it grow, and then eating what you grew is invaluable experience for children. And garden planning this time of year makes Springtime feel closer and these last days of Winter easier to bear! Thanks for the mention of my Antique Seed Packs digital download ~ in addition to the collage sheet you featured, I’ve created a CD with the entire set of these beautiful vintage seed packets! http://lunagirl.com/collections/flowers-plants/products/antique-seed-packet-lithographs-cd
    Blessings to You ~ Karen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, seed catalogs! Then it’s time to start seedlings indoors and fuss over them…

    I’ve read LOTS of studies about getting kids involved with growing their own food can help with picky eaters and over-all nutrition. But most of all, working in the garden is grounding in ways that nothing else can compare to.

    Enjoy your garden! Spring will be here before you know it!

    Like

    • Yes, there is so much to learn from gardening…especially taste diversification! There are important eye developments, too, that happen when young eyes are exposed to the blues and greens of the great outdoors. Thanks so much for reading and commenting, stay tuned for garden developments. 🙂

      Like

  3. I have a hard time with seeds and yet I am going to give it a whirl this time. Reserved a book from the library on Straw Bale Gardening and am looking forward to my turn checking it out 🙂

    Like

    • What a great project! I rather wish I’d collected the post-Halloween straw bales that were sitting roadside to do just that. Do come back and let us know how it goes! Thanks for tuning in, Patrice! 🙂

      Like

    • Oh, that IS a funny image! Hmmm, I’ll have to think of something … do you have a sunny windowsill? MY grandmother always grew a lot of bean sprouts in a jar… I’d like to try that myself. Thanks for reading, Elaine, and weighing in! xx a

      Like

    • Great idea, Wendi! I sometimes throw the stub of our leaf lettuce into a bowl of water and regrown tiny little leaves on the windowsill, too. I wonder if I co uld get basil to grow inside? 🙂 thanks for reading! xx angela

      Like

  4. Thanks so much, Funnymother, for including my tomato photograph, “A piece of my heart” in your blog post. You’ll be happy to know that this tomato was started from a seed saved from the prior year’s harvest. And it’s seeds were saved for another season. I love seeing kids gardening. They are fascinated by the growth cycle. Here’s to more families getting into to gardening for its many benefits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

