Planning Now for A Kids-At-Home Summer

kids running through field

Click this idyllic image to purchase this print from Vickie Wade Fine Art.

I’m setting up some daily structure for the summer now.  We have one important rule: no computer before 11 am. They are allowed an hour a day during the summer, and it works better if I give them “time to earn” that privilege.  This summer they’ll also be allowed an hour of playstation time, but not before 3.  And they are required to read for at least an hour a day. That’s our day by day.

They are looking forward to ending their first year in public school and having a long leisurely summer.  They did a great job tackling a big transition, and I’m happy to have the chance to stay home and allow them the kind of summer I had as a kid.

But I also asked them to put a couple of fun things on their wish list for the summer, and here’s what they picked.

vintage circus camel

Click this image to purchase this fun instant download from Digital Design Vault.

Thing 1: Living Treasures Animal Park, Build A Cactus Garden, Grow a jade plant

Thing 2: Get good Pokemon cards, Ride a camel, play laser tag at Lazer Storm

All pretty manageable goals for a summer vacation.

We go to the library regularly year round, we have a big-for-the-suburbs garden to tend, and I’m going to continue having them prepare dinner one night a week. So those are our weekly activities.

I’m also going to get them to the water park, to Maine, and with luck I’ll get us ALL organized for a camping trip.  Our first.  Eek.

colorful waterpark print

Click this image to purchase it from Supkophoto.

My friend Gina over at Sister Serendip has a great summer plan for loose weekly themes and manages to keep five little ones lightly focused and fairly busy all summer.  Check her out, too.  And then tell me what YOUR plans are, over on Facebook or in the comments below.  Here we go!

5 thoughts on “Planning Now for A Kids-At-Home Summer

  1. Wonderful article. Although I have no kids, I keep my nieces and nephews busy by doing the painting museums, crafting and just dancing will burn them out and they will go right to bed. No electronics which will stimulate them and in the wrong way. Works every time…

    Namaste

    Like

    • Hey, Rachel, thanks for your comments! Sounds like you’re doing a great job with those kids! Now that my 12 yo has found some Minecraft songs, we might be able to do a whole-family dance-out too. Great idea!
      xx a

      Like

    • Aw Vickie, thank you. My eldest is 12 and I see big changes happening and big changes on the horizon. I can see the urgency of your advice in new ways every day, haha. Love your work, thanks for reading. x Angela

      Like

Leave a Reply

